I give you freedom- Joy Quartet

I am so glad that God realized I know what is better for me than Him.

“and if you want me to, i’ll make you whole
i’ll only do it if you say so…
i give you freedom,
is it yes, or no?”

And in case you can’t bear the singing…

I Give You Freedom (The Whippoorwill Song)

I set the boundries of the ocean vast,
Carved out the mountains from the distant past,
Moulded a man from the miry clay,
Breathed in him life, but he went astray.

CHORUS:
I own the cattle on a thousand hills,
I write the music for the whippoorwills,
Control the planets with their rocks and rills,
But give you freedom to use your own will.

And if you want Me to, I’ll make you whole,
I’ll only do it tho’ if you say so.
I’ll never force you, for I love you so,
I give you freedom – Is it “yes” or “no”?

I hold the waters in My mighty hand
Spread out the heavens with a single span,
Make all creation tremble at My voice,
But My own children come to Me by choice.
(chorus)

Even the oxen knows the master’s stall,
And sheep will recognize the shepherd’s call
I could demand your love – I own you twice,
But only willing love is worth the price!
(chorus)

My holy word now I give to you,
As a shining lamp to guide you through,
My yoke is easy and My burden is light,
Keep looking up, your Heavenly home’s in sight.
(chorus)

8 Responses to “I give you freedom- Joy Quartet”

  1. Carl Says:

    Some people would never be satisfied. They think God is too harsh when He limits our options and too weak when He allows us choices.

  2. archshrk Says:

    It’s amazing how easily people will convince themselves something is within God’s plan if it serves their purpose. What do they place their trust in? Fallen Man?!

  3. John Says:

    Barf!

    Another good reason not to send even your dog to Pensacola Pelagian College.

  4. Mark Falls Says:

    What a powerful song! Some brainiacs worship a god of their own making–a god so sovereign that he can do anything except allow one of his creation to make a freewill choice. I am so thankful that the God of the Bible is sovereign–able to do anything including to grant me a choice. Yes God speaks of His elect, but that has more to do with sanctification than salvation, and it is grounded in his foreknowledge, not His determinate will. Grant it, this wasn’t a great rendering of the song, but what a message!

    • John In Doubt Says:

      if it is free choice then why is heaven or hell the only choices? how come i can’t choose to die and be dead?
      why do I have to be punished just because I do not agree with God’s opinion or Satan’s?
      if death is the result of my choice to love one other who is not God or Satan, but makes me feel loved like God and Satan both have never made me feel, why then must I be punished with heaven or hell?
      why can’t I say when I die…” leave me in the ground”.
      can the creator of souls not uncreate a soul?
      must I be judged if judgment does not apply to me because I choose not to choose a side?
      is it permanent once it is come into being?

      no I am not saying I believe science either!
      evolution is as fake as the people preaching it!
      but I do believe in God and that His Son was sent to be the only mediator and Sacrifice for our atonement.
      but I still don’t see how the alternative to death or life is a free will choice, I see it as an ultimatum.
      I did not asked to be created. I was created for His glory. if so then He should have created me to understand the logic in OR being free choice.
      you can choose to live or die, but you cannot choose to be re-winded and tossed back on the shelf of nonexistance!

      and even asking this question is such a sin that I miss out on heaven and go to hell.
      when will He respond?
      will it be just before I am judged or just after?
      or will it be after 1000 years in hell and torment for asking such a question.
      do not condemn me before you answer the question.

      quotes from above are not all in love
      Some people would never be satisfied. They think God is too harsh when He limits our options and too weak when He allows us choices.
      degrading people do not lead them to a loving relationship with Christ, it is just planting seeds by the way side… it is just hypocritical as the pharisees and Jesus said you have to be better than them and even that ius not good enough!
      so please don’t quote scripture or opinions to me, if you are not living what you preach.

  5. Sharing Truth Says:

    John in Doubt,

    I don’t know why we can’t choose to just be dead, but instead must spend eternity in heaven or hell. It goes with being God that God can (and does) do what He wants to, and doesn’t have to ask our opinion or permission.

    I believe that, although you believe there’s a God, and say you believe the Bible, and may want to be a Christian, the enemy is leading you to question God and be angry at what He says and does.

    Question: Are you John in Doubt? John in Anger? John in Fear? John in Criticism? John in Dispair? John in Pride? I could be wrong, but I believe that the Father wants you to be John in His Right Mind, and not only that, but John in the Will of God, John in the Holy Spirit, and John in Freedom.

    So, why not listen to the song again and just let it sink in. Ask the Father to deliver you — It’s in the Lord’s Prayer — and renounce anything that exalts itself against God.

    In Christian Love,
    Sherry

    • John In Doubt Says:

      Question: Are you John in Doubt? John in Anger? John in Fear? John in Criticism? John in Dispair? John in Pride? I could be wrong, but I believe that the Father wants you to be John in His Right Mind, and not only that, but John in the Will of God, John in the Holy Spirit, and John in Freedom.

      why can’t someone just ask a question and get a response that doesn’t attempt to degrade their hope of a direct answer to the question?
      why must people assume there is something wrong with that person?
      a teacher in school told me we all came from apes, I asked then how come we have apes, how come only some evolved but not all of them? and how come being that we are so much more advanced and adaptive we have stopped evolving, how come we aren’t winged creatures, with ESP and x-ray vision?
      I was in the 4th grade then. I am an adult now and I know the truth. but at that time i was told how stupid i was acting when I had all the answers right there in front of me in a text book and then was sent promptly to the time out room.
      I wasn’t even aware of all the biblical knowledge then that I am aware of now. I wasn’t being a smart Alec either, i just wanted to understand in a way where I had no doubt.
      and when I expressed it in the future I could be just as convincing.
      I am not in despair or fear.
      I just want an answer and not turned back on me as if I am abnormal for asking.
      but I tell you I hear all this about CHRISTian love but I haven’t seen one man in 44 years greet another man with a Christian kiss.
      we preach some of the bible and live some other parts of the bible.
      but when it comes to society watching us or AIDS, or what will others think am I gay… we do not do as we were instructed.
      either we do all or none… just as if the bible is all true or is all a lie. because yes people are watching us, and they are judging us to. I agree with the atheist who says ” if this is what it means to be a CHRISTian then I don’t want any part of it.
      yes society is watching and yes some may miss judge, but Jesus touched a leper and did not get Leprosy, why because He was faithful in all aspects of His walk and talk.
      if you degrade nonchristians because they do not have the spirit of truth then you have judged them. God gives you the spirit to believe, and you cannot pronounce Jesus as your savior until God gives you the spirit to do so. so God is in control. he wills who He wills to be a part of His entourage, and yet we Christians call this freedom of choice.
      basically God gives us a choice only when He wills us to have a choice. this is not freedom. just as when the USA constitution gives me the right to freedom of religion but allows a Buddhist to deny me my free right to religion in public gatherings because he has a right not to be exposed. so now I am persecuted for bringing a bible to school and proving evolution is a fraud. and that it takes more faith to believe in evolution than it does for me to believe in God… these are not freedoms they are laws that govern what I do.
      I am God’s creation, if He wills that I suffer for eternity then I have to say “God I love you, for giving me a chance to live this life, and I thank you for what ever path you choose for me, and I thank you for allowing me to be one of those many that go to hell or those few that go to heaven, either way I still love you.”
      sound like freedom?
      sound like something every Christian says?
      but according to the biblical teachings this is exactly how God wants us to believe ( with Joyful heart) because He is the creator. its His way or the …. nothing there is no other way. the choice is life or death nothing else.
      seems to me being neutral is choosing death. but not permanent death, death as many times as He says.
      AND THIS PREACHING OF ETERNAL HELL AND SUFFERING, i READ A NEW HEAVEN AND NEW EARTH BUT I NEVER READ ABOUT A NEW HELL.
      in order to continue this madness of suffering is He going to create a new hell?
      I think not. I believe if He is a loving God He would not recreate the worst thing He ever created.
      so back to my original question: Can God uncreate or destroy completely His own creation or is there some physical law that says if you bring it into existence it is always going to exist?

      I read the NIV and blueletterbible dot com
      I listen to many commentaries, I also read them, I ask God to speak to me, I am still wondering.
      okay how about the singer or the author of the song giving me his version of the answer without telling me how bad I don’t believe or how messed up my teaching must have been. or how all the bad things in life now have me questioning God.
      I fear nothing, not even death because to be out of the body is to with Him, whether that is instant or on judgment day I do not understand, but the dead in Christ will rise first so I have to believe to be out of the body means i am going to be in Abraham’s bosom.
      so even if I have to suffer a second death it will be His will for me as my creator. just as if I am making two loaves of bread and I decide to burn one just to see how it will taste, it is my will to burn it as crisp as I want, or as black as I want, because I am the creator of the loaf, shall the loaf then ask me why? no because it is just a loaf… it doesn’t think…….or does it??????????????????

  6. mikecorley Says:

    There is a major problem with the theology represented by the college and the song, it isn’t proven by the weight of Scripture. Even with all the sentiment, emotions and drama…..God calls the shots, not us. There is no way to get around this…period. You can believe it if you like, but the Word of God contradicts the theology taught by the song and the comments of the pastor in the film.


Leave a comment