Chuck Smith on Romans 9:16

So then it is not of him that wills, [it is not by our resolves,] nor of him that runs, but of God that shows mercy (Rom 9:16).

The sovereignty of God, in His divine election, in His
predestination, in His choosing. It isn’t that I made my great resolve,
that I have willed, nor is it my works that I have run, but that it
might stand by election God chose me.

Thus, I can’t really boast in what I am or what I have done, or even
what I hope to do. All I can do is boast in the grace and mercy of God
that chose a wretch like me. I once was lost, but now I am found. I was
blind, but now I see. Oh, that amazing grace of God.

Leave a Reply

