Humility: True Greatness

I have finished reading the new book by C.J Mahaney and it was amazing!! As you can tell it took less than a week to read this book, but don’t let the size of the book fool you.
Within this book are a lot of practical and biblical information and application.

As I said in my last blog post the book is broken down into three parts

  • Part one is the battle between humility and pride
  • Part two is Christ as an example of humility
  • Part three is humility in action.

Each chapter shows pride in everyday form (even in areas I had never thought about). The main area that impacted me was my words and how my words correlate either pride or humility. Reading this book I was constantly going “Oh yeah! I have done that!” or “Hey! That is me!”, and seeing areas I need to work on daily!

Some noteworthy quotes from the book

Through each and every interaction, however casual, however brief, I
want to impart grace through my words, for that’s God’s purpose in granting us
this gift of speech. And in effect we have God’s promise in this passage that
when our words are edifying and appropriate, they will give grace.

We watch our hearts and study our hearts in the
shadow of the cross as a means of protecting our hearts from the daily presence
and opposition of sin. If you don’t watch, you’ll inevitably weaken.

Regardless of the severity of suffering
we experience in this life, it will always be less than what we have deserved for
our sins.

The chapter on humility in suffering was probably the one chapter that affected me the most. I don’t know why since I am not suffering right now, but reading the story of his sister and brother in law really struck a chord with me. Even reading the quote again it is touching me.

I would highly recommend this book and even say it is a must read!

Why?

Because pride is one thing every person has to deal with DAILY! The dying of self is a constant battle and within this book are tools to help with combating with this enemy.

Leave a Reply

